Week 5. The nevers.

I have a bad attack of the nevers at the moment. I saw a little trailer for a Black Bough book – Wonderful Things. I have a poem in there. It’s a collection inspired by Tutankhamen, and the trailer has shots of Egypt – and I’ll probably never go to Egypt now. I’ll never go to New York. I saw an Instagram reel about the Fitzrovia Chapel, and found myself thinking “I may never go to London again”. Some of this is realistic. Even if I get well enough to travel, it’s going to be a while before I’m insurable. When I say a while, I mean a long time. I don’t want to be a “never” person, though. I want to think about possibilities.

So, good things.

The kids are great. They are cooking regularly, shopping, being helpful, saving funny videos for me.

I have friends who check in regularly.

My tastebuds have been minimally affected (so far!) – so I can drink tea and enjoy my food.

I really bounced back in my week off. I felt pretty normal – I was pleasantly surprised.

I have knitted two small frogs. Small projects are working well for me.

I don’t have the energy or clear-headedness for creative writing but I managed this post!

I’m radically resting. I’m forgiving myself for being exhausted. I’m embracing the horizontal.

About sarahsouthwest

I'm now in my early 50s. I started writing again as a way of exploring the world, and feel that over the last 2 years I have really grown as a writer. By day I work with children and young people with mental health difficulties. I juggle my own two children, my work, my writing practice, generally managing to keep all the balls up in the air.
This entry was posted in Chemo, chemotherapy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 5. The nevers.

  1. Sherry says:

    Rest and heal, Sarah. I always love reading whatever you write. Your frog is ADORABLE.

  2. good to hear you are having more heartening days Sarah – in Celtic mythology frogs represent healing so knit on (cute as a button anyway)

Leave a comment