Mindfulness

Mindfulness is, of course, utterly zeitgeist at the moment. But living in North Devon is like living in 1957, but with wifi. Things are so non-alternative here, it’s positively freaky. So I’ve been looking for a mindfulness course locally and failing to find one – might have to fall back on a book and a CD, which is a shame.

What I have noticed, though, is that it is so utterly zeitgeist that wherever you look, there it is, waving cheekily, whisking out of sight…

Here is Marian Keyes, in Saved by Cake: 

Baking makes me concentrate on what’s right in front of my nose. I have to focus. On weighing the sugar. On sieving the flour.

That’s mindful, right? Living in the now? Concentrating on this moment, right here, right now?

About sarahsouthwest

I'm now in my early 50s. I started writing again as a way of exploring the world, and feel that over the last 2 years I have really grown as a writer. By day I work with children and young people with mental health difficulties. I juggle my own two children, my work, my writing practice, generally managing to keep all the balls up in the air.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mindfulness

  1. In the Stillness of Willow Hill says:

    I know the frustration of NOT living an area of alternative thinking. Although I’m in California, my particular region is not at all open to such ideas. In the beginning of my mindfulness journey, I really tried to be open to meeting up with someone randomly brought to me through the power of universal consciousness but it hasn’t happened. So I think the universe is telling me that it’s my journey. And yes, cooking can be a great mindful practice!

Leave a Reply

