Sitting on Knapp

So, here I am. In my hospital gown, which keeps sliding off one shoulder. The sun is shining outside, but it’s cool in here. I’ve just been told I’ll be having the hot room post surgery – heart sink. For now, I should enjoy being cool, the sound of gulls outside, the low rumble of traffic. The bar of sunlight angled across the floor.

There were 6 of us here, with assorted hangers on. A nice woman next to me who has come down from Bideford by bus. She’s curled across 2 seats at the moment, mouse slippers on her feet & a blanket around her shoulders, like a refugee from a flood. There was a woman on the other side who I never saw. A woman directly opposite who was with her husband, & who struggled with the woman next to her, skinny, bleach blond cropped hair, showed us a picture of her cat (Stevie G). Her love of Liverpool carved into her skin.

It is 1 o’clock. I got here at 7.45. I’m not too hungry, & I’m not really bored. I’m tired, I’m not concentrating brilliantly. The gulls are going crazy out there. I guess it’s lunchtime & there are sandwiches to scavenge.

About sarahsouthwest

I'm now in my early 50s. I started writing again as a way of exploring the world, and feel that over the last 2 years I have really grown as a writer. By day I work with children and young people with mental health difficulties. I juggle my own two children, my work, my writing practice, generally managing to keep all the balls up in the air.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

