Roy Baty, c’est moi.

There were origami cranes on the wall in the pub, and that set us thinking of Blade Runner. Obviously.

Blade Runner is one of my favourite films. I love the idea that the future will be scruffy in places. He got the weather bang on. It has Harrison Ford and Rutger Bauer. It’s a film I’ll stay up late to watch if it’s on the TV, and there aren’t many things that keep me up past bedtime these days. Certainly not on the telly.
I first watched it back when I was smug in the knowledge of my own eternal youth and immortality. Now I watch it in the knowledge that I am hurtling towards oblivion.

Roy Baty is dying, and he knows it, and he is angry. Well, so am I. I suspect I’m not the only one.

And, Roy, I have seen amazing things, too. I have seen an eclipse of the sun. I have seen a red moon. I have seen my husband waiting for me at the altar. I have held my newborn daughter. I have seen a snowstorm, a cloud, a deer leaping. I have watched my son run and jump and skip with pure joy. All these things will be lost, like tears in rain.

So, who of us has not fantasized about seeking out our creator and demanding some answers? And then crushing his skull with our bare hands? OK, maybe that bit is just me…

So I’m with you, Roy. You are a scary monster, but you have the right to be.

About sarahsouthwest

I'm now in my early 50s. I started writing again as a way of exploring the world, and feel that over the last 2 years I have really grown as a writer. By day I work with children and young people with mental health difficulties. I juggle my own two children, my work, my writing practice, generally managing to keep all the balls up in the air.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

