More weather

When I started this, I never thought that weather would be such a theme. Mainly because here, on this little island in the Atlantic, we don’t really have weather. I mean, we do have weather, obviously, but it doesn’t usually impinge much on  day to day life. You might wear a cardigan. Or take an umbrella with you. Or put on some factor 15. But generally, you don’t stop doing what  you were going to do just because of the weather.

Once in a while we have been snowed in. Maybe once a year. Husband is considered essential, so he struggles out. (I am essential, too, of course, but not in quite such and immediate way). I get to be snowed in with the kids, and it has always felt like a gift. I have a larder designed to keep us going after the zombie plague. We could keep going for months. We might finally get to eat the tinned lychees if the zombies got really bad. I don’t worry about being snowed in for a couple of days. It has always felt like a welcome pause.

But this weather is different. It’s big. It’s on the news every night. There are massive, like 100 foot, waves slamming against buildings. There are huge areas under flood. 

You can hear it. Normally I get up in the morning and open the curtains to see what the day is doing. But now – I can hear the wind howling, I can hear the rain battering. We sit in the lounge in the evenings and listen to the wind beating against the house. I look out in the morning to check for damage. 

So, is this a gift? Obviously if you are one of those people whose been flooded, or had a tree land on your car, or your business destroyed by rocks down at Westward Ho!,then it’s not a gift, and I don’t want to patronise you. However, for the rest of us, who are being inconvenienced a bit (cancelled lunch yesterday! Cat has disappeared!! Lid of the postbox blown away!!!), then I think there is something good about being reminded that we are very small and the world is very big.

 

 

About sarahsouthwest

I'm now in my early 50s. I started writing again as a way of exploring the world, and feel that over the last 2 years I have really grown as a writer. By day I work with children and young people with mental health difficulties. I juggle my own two children, my work, my writing practice, generally managing to keep all the balls up in the air.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

