The back story.

I am still not sure how I got here. I no longer have the fantasy that I will turn up to an out-patient appointment and someone will start apologising profusely about the massive mistake that has been made; but I don’t think I really believe that this is what will kill me.

But who does really, truly, believe that they will ever die?

Anyhow, it might not be this that kills me. I might get hit by a bus tomorrow. The only thing that’s different about me and you is that I have a bit more information than you about what is happening in my body. The odds of when and how are a bit clearer for me than they are for you.

I was diagnosed with breast cancer 6 years ago. My children were 6 and 4, so they have lived with this for a huge proportion of their lives. I did my time back then – chemotherapy, mastectomy, radiotherapy. I stayed positive, I drank ginger tea, I appreciated the small things. I got better.

I had a reconstruction 2 and 1/2 years ago, which meant having scans to make sure there was no recurrence. It all looked fine. We were relieved.

And then, 2 years ago, I was picked up as having a recurrence of a cluster of small tumours in the other breast and a couple of shadows on my lungs that look like metastases. And suddenly everything changes. This thing I thought had gone had come back. I was no longer being treated to cure, I was being treated palliatively.

So now I’m living with cancer. I am trying to live a sensible, happy, hopeful, meaningful life in the shadow of a monster that could kick off at any time. A bit like you, really, except that I have a better idea of what the monster looks like.

I try to live gratefully – but sometimes I feel angry. Or scared. Or depressed. Sometimes I feel bored. Sometimes I wonder why I bother taking medication that has insidious, irritating side effects.

About sarahsouthwest

I'm now in my early 50s. I started writing again as a way of exploring the world, and feel that over the last 2 years I have really grown as a writer. By day I work with children and young people with mental health difficulties. I juggle my own two children, my work, my writing practice, generally managing to keep all the balls up in the air.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

